Errata and Unfamiliar Game Systems

Posted: August 2, 2011 in Game Design

One of the great things with working with such a diverse and talented group of authors, is that you are often exposed to new game systems and ideas that you would otherwise miss out on.

Of course the downside to this, is that you are often laying out work for a system you haven’t used before, and thus mistakes are much harder to spot.

This came to light recently with Powder, Passion & Plunder. After releasing the product, Richard Fannon emailed me to let me know I had missed off the Composure track for the characters in the sample adventure.

“Have I?” I asked, “What’s one of those when it’s at home?”

Anyway, Richard explained it to me and sent over the corrected text, all fixed no problems. Of course, that’s the great thing about electronic publishing. If I had made that error in a traditional print operation I would have been left with a few thousand incorrect books and an errata section on the web site.

If you have purchased Passion, Powder & Plunder please download a new copy from RPGNow to obtain the updated version.

Leave a Reply

